Android Finally Gives an Option to Get Rid of the Pesky Second Location Consent Screen

New Use Google Location Service Notification

New Use Google Location Service Notification

The other day, while using my phone and about to check-in somewhere, I noticed, following my turning on of “Location” and having agreed to the “Location Consent” notification, a new screen popped up requesting my consent.  Of course, I have gotten used to this in the last couple of months, with Android’s KitKat having not only replaced the “GPS” toggle option with “Location”, but having to agree to two separate consent screens before being able to use the service.  However, this second screen looked different – there was an option to never have to see it again!

It seems someone must have gotten my complaint! This new notification, entitled “Use Google’s location service?” (replacing “Location Consent” (#2)) has the following language:

Let Google help apps determine location. This means sending anonymous location data to Google, even when no apps are running.*

New Use Google Location Service Notification gives you the option to not show up again

New Use Google Location Service Notification gives you the option to not show up again

In addition to being given the options of Agree or Disagree, one is also given the option of “Don’t show again”, which is so welcome! Needless to say, I quickly agreed and have, fortunately, not seen this “Use Google’s location service?” consent screen again. Definitely a step in the right direction 🙂

Now, if they could only do that for the first “Location consent” screen, then us users wouldn’t have to press twice to get our location services….


* This consent screen replaces what had been before:

Allow Google’s location service to collect anonymous data. Some data may be stored on your device. Collection may occur even when no apps are running.

You may also like...